Change Location × Charleston

    Recent Locations

      Speaker Series: Delia Owens in Charleston


      • Speaker Series: Delia Owens Photo #1
      1 of 1
      May 3, 2019

      Friday   6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

      164 King Street
      Charleston, South Carolina 29401

      Map
      Performers:
      • No Performers Listed
      EVENT DETAILS
      Speaker Series: Delia Owens

      Join CLS & Buxton Books as we welcome bestselling author Delia Owens as she speaks about her hit novel "Where The Crawdads Sing." Owens will be introduced by bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe for this incredible lecture event. Tickets are $5 for members and $10 for nonmembers. Every ticket purchased will receive a $5 off coupon for the title book Where The Crawdads Sing useable specifically at this event. #1 New York Times Bestseller A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I cant even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" -Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful." -The New York Times Book Review "Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver." -Bustle For years, rumors of the Marsh Girl have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new lifeuntil the unthinkable happens. Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps. Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in AfricaCry of the Kalahari, The Eye of the Elephant, and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She currently lives in Idaho, where she continues her support for the people and wildlife of Zambia. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.


      Categories: Performing Arts

      Event details may change at any time, always check with the event organizer when planning to attend this event or purchase tickets.